The "Athens Rotary Club Rotarian of the Year" is reserved for the club member who best exemplifies the fellowship and the ideals of Rotary as interpreted in the Rotary motto, "service above self".  The 2015 Award was presented to Karen Harvey by President Mario Grijalva at the Holiday Party on Dec. 7, 2015. 
Karen was described as a loyal, committed, very well organized, forward thinking and dependable club member.  Her Rotary activities along with her public service and local volunteer activities demonstrate a concern for the members of this community at all levels.
Rotary activities
●Karen Harvey joined Rotary in 1992.
●Harvey was President of the Athens Rotary Club in 1998.
●Harvey was Secretary/Board member of the Athens Rotary Club for 6 years, leaving the position in June 2014.
●Harvey has been a long standing member of the Athens Rotary Foundation Board which was incorporated in 1998.  Karen was President of Rotary at the time.  She has remained on the Foundation Board and became Chair of the Athens Rotary Foundation in July 2014.
●She has been a long-time annual volunteer/organizer for the Rotary Club Golf Fundraiser.
●She participated on the committee for the Athens Rotary Club 75th anniversary.
●Karen has been a mentor to new Board members including incoming President Diane McVey as well as Andrea Reik as incoming Secretary.
●Karen has assumed the role of Club historian – The members of the Rotary Board have utilized Karen’s history in the Club as well as her understanding of the operation of Rotary International.
●Karen is a regular volunteer at Club sponsored events including Habitat for Humanity, Gawande Garden Project, Friends of India dinner, District Governor’s Conference during Ram Gawande’s presidency as well as Camp Rotan.
●Karen also regularly participates in Rotary social events including Holiday Parties, Copperhead games and various Rotary get acquainted events.
In addition to her rotary service, she has been a long-time volunteer in many other local organizations and is well-known for her Public Service as
Athens County Commissioner (1977-1988) and Magistrate – Athens County Court of Common Pleas  (1989-2008).
Information Source:  Secretary Andrea Reik
Photo by:  Club Photographer Don Fucci